Dr. Philip "Uri" Treisman

Dr. Philip "Uri" Treisman

Dr. Philip “Uri” Treisman is a University Distinguished Teaching Professor, professor of mathematics, and professor of public affairs at The University of Texas at Austin. He is the founder and Executive Director of the university’s Charles A. Dana Center, an organized research unit of the College of Natural Sciences.

Treisman is active in the leadership of organizations working to improve American mathematics education. He is a founding member of Transforming Post-Secondary Education in Mathematics and serves as the representative of the American Mathematical Society to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (Education, Section Q). Treisman launched the Dana Center Mathematics Pathways, an initiative to modernize entry-level college mathematics programs through working with states and colleges. He created the Urban Mathematics Leadership Network, which supports statewide mathematics leadership teams in America’s largest urban school districts.

Treisman has served as a Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Education Commission of the States since 2013. He also serves as chairman of the Strong Start to Finish Campaign, a joint initiative of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the Kresge Foundation, and the Great Lakes Higher Education Guaranty Corporation that works nationally to ensure all students get a strong start in their first year of college and finish with the skills they need to thrive. Treisman has served on the STEM working group of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology, on the 21st Century Commission on the Future of Community Colleges of the American Association of Community Colleges, and on the Commission on Mathematics and Science Education of the Carnegie Corporation of New York Institute for Advanced Study.

For his work in developing and disseminating strategies for supporting high minority student achievement in mathematics, Treisman received a MacArthur Fellowship (1992-1997) and was named Harvard Foundation’s Scientist of the Year in 2006.